Support us

Safer Gambling Standard

The Safer Gambling Standard is the social responsibility quality standard for licensed gambling operators.


The Standard is a set of best practice standards developed out of a combination of academic evidence in Responsible Gambling practices, GamCare service user input, and GamCare’s knowledge and experience from over 20 years of work with those affected by problem gambling, and the gambling industry itself.

The Safer Gambling Standard assessment process involves a review of a gambling operator’s policies and procedures, interviews with staff, website reviews and premises visits. The assessment examines a range of areas to get a true sense of an operator’s organisational culture. For responsible gambling measures to be effective, it is essential that they are integrated into organisational culture and flow throughout the organisation.

The Safer Gambling Standard recognises those operators who adopt good practice principles and processes to minimise harm from the products and services they provide. The Standard consists of criteria for the achievement of:

  • the Safer Gambling Standard Base Level
  • the Safer Gambling Standard Advanced Level (Awards at Level 1 up to Level 3)

Who has achieved the Safer Gambling Standard?

The following gambling operators have been assessed against the requirements of version 1.0 the Safer Gambling Standard for their operations licensed in Great Britain.

Online Operators

Genting UK plc – Advanced Level 3

Buzz Group Ltd – Advanced Level 2

JPJ Group plc (Dumarca Gaming Ltd subsidiary) – Advanced Level 2

Intouch Games Ltd – Advanced Level 2

Camelot UK Lotteries Ltd – Advanced Level 2

Land-Based Operators

Genting UK plc – Advanced Level 3

Camelot UK Lotteries Ltd – Advanced Level 2

Buzz Group Ltd – Advanced Level 2

About the Safer Gambling Standard

The Safer Gambling Standard is updated every year to take into account developments in regulations, research and best practice.

Download current version of the Safer Gambling Standard (v2.0 2020)

Download document explaining the changes between Standard versions 1.0 and 2.0

You can also access the previous version of the Standard (v1.0 2018) here

The Safer Gambling Standard replaced GamCare Certification as the accreditation offered by GamCare from December 2018. All operators with current GamCare Certification will be able to continue to use the GamCare Certification logo until their certified period expires.

Please note that GamCare is not able to intervene in complaints regarding gambling businesses. If you have a complaint regarding a gambling company please see the Gambling Commission website for more information.

For gambling operators who would like more information, please complete the enquiry form below:

Safer Gambling Standard Enquiry Form

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Share this page