GamCare Logo

The Safer Gambling Standard

The Safer Gambling Standard is a set of best practice standards developed out of a combination of academic evidence in Responsible Gambling practices, GamCare service user input, and GamCare’s knowledge and experience from over 20 years of work with those affected by problem gambling, and the gambling industry itself.

The Safer Gambling Standard assessment process involves a review of a gambling operator’s policies and procedures, interviews with staff, website reviews and premises visits. The assessment examines a range of areas to get a true sense of an operator’s organisational culture. For responsible gambling measures to be effective, it is essential that they are integrated into organisational culture and flow throughout the organisation.

The Safer Gambling Standard recognises those operators who adopt good practice principles and processes to minimise harm from the products and services they provide. The Standard consists of criteria for the achievement of:

  • the Safer Gambling Standard
  • the Safer Gambling Standard Advanced Level (Awards at Level 1 up to Level 3)

The Safer Gambling Standard is replacing GamCare Certification as the accreditation offered by GamCare from December 2018. All operators with current GamCare Certification will be able to continue to use the GamCare Certification logo until their certified period expires. Thereafter, the Safer Gambling Standard will be offered.

Further details of the Safer Gambling Standard can be found here.

For more information please contact Paul Carpenter, Head of Industry Services, at [email protected]

Was this page useful? Yes 

Find out more about...

GamCare ExTra e-learning

GamCare ExTra is a social responsibility e-learning package which helps to promote responsible gaming. Click to read more

read more

Frontline Services

Whether you have a gambling problem yourself, or you are impacted by someone else's gambling, GamCare has a range of services designed to help you.

Find out more