Time to sort my life out

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter

hi everyone

Im new to this and just signed up. Il start by saying a little about me then I want to try and start a diary everyday or 2 days with updates of how I’m doing, I’m hoping this will help with the stopping

I began gambling when i was 16 I had a job in a shop and every week when I got paid it would be straight in the pubs slot machines, sometimes I would find myself putting £200/300 in a machine that only had a £50/100 jackpots! most weeks I would find myself with no money a day after I got paid

Now I’m 28 earning a lot more money and still doing the same things I did when I was 16!

I had stopped for about a year when I saved money up to buy a house etc but recently it’s worse then ever before

Last week I had £90 on me and went on a fobt and somehow won £1500 I took it straight out and put it in my bank, telling myself it’s in the bank it’s safe.

But then this week i went to online gambling something that I’ve never really done as much,

Online is even worse then fobts, fobts you physically take money out and put it in a machine you can kind of see what your ding (even thiu I’ve felt like a zombie feeding the machine before) online Though is a lot worse for me I don’t really register money as money to me it’s just a number on the screen I type a few buttons and the number goes up to play more, I ended up losing the £1500! Then chased it with another £1500 playing silly £10/2” spins I’ve never done before thinking (just one win could get me back level) but it never did I’m now £3000 down in 2 days and feel mortified how I could let that happen. So I came to gamecare to see if I can try and learn from people and help myself.

I am going to be trying to keep a diary Of every other day trying not to gamble my feelings each time and try to reach 100 days not gambling to begin with and then continue from there for another 100 etc. I WANT TO BEAT THIS