New diary

369 Posts
62 Users
0 Likes
31.2 K Views
Graham2
(@graham2)
Topic starter

I did start one a while back but think I might have given out a bit too much info. My friend Charly suggested at having another go so here I am.

Briefly I am in my 4th year of recovery and the urges come about twice a year now, lasting just a few seconds. I am not a gambler but I am a gambler in recovery.

My main source of gambling was slot machines. I gambled compulsively for 20 years. Having a good income the bills were always paid thank goodness, but the lying was still there. At the end it was a big part of ruining my very good business!

Hit rock bottom and by will power ( well total self loathing ) I quit. I did the old trick, having been clean a while of" oh well, a tenner in the fruit machine won`t hurt". Hmmm, did that every few months.

Found here and also Safe Harbor

http://www.sfcghub.com/cgsf1.html

and that was when I quit and have stayed quit.

I find that staying connected to others in recovery a great help. I just can`t believe I have so few urges.

One thing is guys, if you want to quit you really do have to want to whole heartily. Into 5 years of gambling I knew I had a problem, wanted to quit but wanted to gamble more.

OK so what`s big for me right now? Giving up smoking. Well never thought as a 30 a day man I would. I found the e-cigarette and it`s been great. Yesterday was my best day, just 3 cigarettes, my aim was to cut back to 15. Now I am hoping to quit all together.

I am just about to take computer course, CIA A+ as I want to start a little sideline business in computer repair and maintenance to run with my existing part time business, so it looks like busy, busy for me.

The message is, gambling is not in my life any more. Some days are better than others as for everyone but at least one problem in not present.

Good luck in your recoveries.

Posted : 15th July 2009 1:26 pm
(@Anonymous)

Posted : 16th July 2009 10:54 am
(@Anonymous)

Hey Graham