DAY 1

26 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter

Well here we go...

Its been just short of 3 hours since i blew £2000 on a bookies roulette machine, my entire wages for the month!!

Ive been gambling since I was 15 and it has ruled my life for the past 10 years! Its crawled underneath my skin and disrupted my life without me even noticing.

I've run up debts I can't even put a figure to. Ive borrowed of Ex GF'S left right and centre.

Borrowed off my parents too... thousands!

Ive just sorted my life out, new job, new car(part paid for by my parents, at 25 years old this is a joke) and i live in a plush pad with a mate with rent WELL over due!!

This is a predicament I know i can pull myself out of. I didnt gamble for 9months last year then fell into a lapse after a day out with the lads at the horses...

I've known ive been addicted to gambling for years and simply brushed it under the rug like I do everything else...

You could be the wisest, most intelligent person in the world but once the gambling addiction sticks its claws in your a goner...UNLESS you can fight back.

The problem is this, I talk a good game, i know a good game but when it comes down to the crunch I cave in. I was so proud of myself when I gave up gambling, it was the one thing in my life I couldnt control and I thought id mastered it.... How wrong I was, But now on this very day September 28th 2007 @ 4pm in the afternoon aged 25 years I'm guna stop. I'm bigger than this addiction!

I have never ever felt suicidal like some other posts and this is not down to, maybe I've not hit rock bottom like some others have... Its down to the fact I love life... Its a great gift, but i'm ruining my own life because of stupid wrong moves!!

I have a chance to make something of my life! One day I will settle down and start a family and I'm glad in a way this addiction has hit me now rather than later in my life!