fresh start

1,154 Posts
70 Users
2 Likes
81.4 K Views
slowlearner
(@slowlearner)

Hi gadaveuk,

I've no doubt you're the expert, I congratulate you on 20 years of abstinence what a fantastic achievement. I apologize Boro  for my post, the only experience I have of compulsive gambling recovery is that I stopped after 48 years & I am clean since Aug 2018. Over to you Dave.

Al

Posted : 13th February 2022 1:08 am
 Boro
(@boro)
Topic starter

@slowlearner I appreciate your post I’m sure Dave didn’t mean the way he come across 

Posted : 13th February 2022 12:03 pm
gadaveuk
(@gadaveuk)

@slowlearner 

Hi

I am not an expert as you think.

I am an equal to all people who are suffering in pain an want to heal their hurt inner child.

My length in the recovery program demonstrates how much I want to be even healthier than I was yesterday.

If by sharing people can relate to the pains of my past and they want or need to heal we help each other.

I think you did not understand that I have been in recovery since 1969.

It took me over 20 years to get to understand that recovery is much more than abstaining from Gambling.

This August I will be celebrating 30 years of my last bet.

That does not mean I do not make mistakes or want to apologize for some thing unhealthy I did or said that adversely affected my relationship with my self and another person.

Recovery is not about status or preaching but about demonstrating a healthy living and healthy relationships with out fears holding me back..

Love and peace to every one.

Dave L

AKA Dave Of Beckenham UK

Posted : 13th February 2022 1:31 pm
 Boro
(@boro)
Topic starter

No thoughts whatsoever of going in a betting shop today. I know I can’t if I do the consequences are bad and just can’t take that feeling again.

Posted : 14th February 2022 7:54 pm
gadaveuk
(@gadaveuk)

@boro 

Hi

That is very sad that they are missing your money.

LOL.

Dave L

Posted : 14th February 2022 8:13 pm
 Boro
(@boro)
Topic starter