What to do next

28 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter

Hi I’m new to this but here goes. I’ve been with my partner 15 years and we have a 10 year old, he had a little gambling problem a few years ago with football bets and slot machines but then it all stopped. We have recently come into some money a few months ago, we had an amazing family holiday but I’ve just found out that he has gambled all the money away, he has been lying to me for months, acting as if everything is fine and normal and I believed we were happy, my world has been torn apart and I don’t know what to do, I would be grateful for any advice thank you.

Posted : 2nd September 2018 5:25 pm
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter

Would love some advice please, I’m struggling with if I help him or leave him

Posted : 2nd September 2018 9:20 pm
Forum admin
(@forum-admin)
Admin

Dear Kirsty,

This must be a very challenging time for you. Unfortunately, problem gambling doesn’t just go away so, even though your partner managed to stop for a while the problem returned since he didn’t have any treatment. It would be good if you encourage him to get in touch with our services for an informal chat. It may also help you to speak to an adviser about your situation. We are open from 8am until midnight, 7 days a week. Also, it would be wise for you to take full financial control in the meantime.

Wishing you all the best

Forum Admin

Posted : 2nd September 2018 9:53 pm
(@Anonymous)

Sorry to hear what’s going on but time for a reality check: it isn’t that he “had” a “little” gambling problem, it was and still is that he has an addiction to gambling and therefore behaves accordingly. His addiction isn’t temporary, it’s permanent but he can arrest it...if that’s what he chooses to do.